wurksz

It’s been a hectic week, and it’s all down to work and this new writing venture thing. The former is going more slowly than Wayne Rooney playing Sudoku, which panics the boss who then shits me up, and the latter is getting increasingly intense, ironically, for all the right reasons.

Yesterday I was almost freaked-out with stress as the editor of the writing thing gave me another job on top of the weekly one. Don’t get me wrong here, this is all good stuff, but when you’ve the better paid job falling over on its arse it doesn’t make for a comfortable day, or, for that matter, the foreseeable days/weeks/months ahead.

So on Wednesday I decided to treat myself, I met up with my bro, Rob, Rick and Harry in a boozer orf of that Wardour Street and got nice and tight, not too much, but enough. I managed to share my woes (i.e., talk intently at them until their eyeballs glazed over) and make them understand that it’s sheer hell, which it isn’t really.

I was home at a reasonable hour, shoved dubious hummus into my face via cream crackers and sat down in front of the PC with a glass of wine. This was a mistake, the hangover I had this morning was utterly awful and, to make matters worse, at midday I had a meeting with the boss and a couple of clients at The Hospital Club, which is fucking horrid by the way.

The meeting seems hazy but it seemed to have gone down well, fortunately both clients had a sense of humour and I seemed to be going down well, whatever it was I was doing to inspire that. On the way back home I managed to embarrass myself on the tube via Charlie Brooker (totally lost it regarding a piece on spiders) and couldn’t gather my dignity, incurring the stony glances of my fellow passengers which merely fuelled my giggling. I must have looked like a farting-mouthed lunatic.

What astonished me even more than the hangover was my enforced visit to the gym at 3.30. Christ. Like last week I darkened the doors three times this week, and I still can’t fathom out how this happened because I HATE going so much. It’s not like I’m taking it easy on myself when I’m there by the way, it really, truly, fucking hurts and worst part is I can’t see any benefit –I can only assume if I wasn’t going regularly (ish) they’d need to take down one of my bedroom walls just to get me outside.

Anyway, one would imagine it countered the meal I had with IC at a rarely visited but favoured eatery in that there Hackney last night, I had pork belly which went into my belly and then became Piqued belly, which was nice.

Its Gerry’s birthday on Sunday, here’s his chart to celebrate. Have good weekends, be good.

THE CHART – WEEK ENDING: 02/04/11

NO. ARTIST SONG TITLE Last Week Weeks On High Pos

30 The Blackout Higher And Higher NE 1 30
29 Band Of Horses Dilly 16 10 2
28 The Guillemots The Basket NE 1 28
27 Elbow Neat Little Rows 11 8 9
26 Glasvegas Euphoria Take My Hand 23 3 23
25 The Joy Formidable Whirring NE 1 25
24 The Wombats Anti-D 25 3 24
23 Kings Of Leon The Immortals 20 4 20
22 Snoop Dogg v David Guetta Sweat 29 2 22
21 The Levellers Family 27 2 21
20 Beth Ditto I Wrote The Book 15 5 15
19 Alex Turner Submarine 18 3 18
18 The Young Knives Love My Name NE 1 18
17 Wiz Khalifa Black And Yellow 26 2 17
16 Chapel Club Surfacing 9 11 1
15 The View Grace 17 4 15
14 Young Guns Stitches 21 2 14
13 Panic! At The Disco The Ballad Of Mona Lisa 4 6 3
12 The Kills Satellite NE 1 12
11 The Strokes Under Cover Of Darkness 8 6 8
10 Grinderman Palaces Of Montezuma 13 3 10
9 We Are The Ocean What It Feels Like 6 5 6
8 Interpol Lights 10 3 8
7 Pigeon Detectives Done In Secret 14 2 7
6 Foo Fighters Rope 7 4 6
5 The Vaccines If You Wanna 12 4 5
4 White Lies Strangers 5 5 4
3 Morning Parade A & E 2 5 1
2 Poly Styrene Virtual Boyfriend 3 5 2
1 Cage The Elephant Shake Me Down 1 8 1


One response to “wurksz

  • OWAICTT

    Blinking Nora, you have taken to life in the East End haven’t you?
    ‘Be good!?’ You’re one step away from ‘Stay Lacky!’ ‘If you can’t be good be careful!’ or ‘Jog On.’ Flipping hummer, as they say round here. (And no, it’s not rhyming slang- because we have no need of such a confection.) Chooooooooon, though. Am going back to web browsing, Scott Walker, and patiently waiting until beer o’clock (5.30 Yorkshire Mean Time.) Not because I have to stay at work, but because it’s easier than looking after the kids!

Leave a comment