Daily Archives: March 7, 2011

ytowt

It’s been one of those weekends that leaves you feeling depressed because it was so good. Bollocks.

I’d give my eye teeth to be back at that wine bar on Friday with IC about to take an Uncle Monty looky-like outside for a slap. Oh well.

I think Saturday was the best day, I had some mates coming down from that there North place and I met them all in London Fields at 4pm after IC and I had undertaken a spot of shopping earlier. Chas and I used to live together as students a few (*ahem*) years back, now he’s in front of me showing off his missus and two kids, one of whom thinks I’m a pirate, if you please.

We wandered about Broadway Market where we met IC, then we wandered to the pub which was busy but happy to accommodate children. We spent a cheery few hours drinking and herding the children away from danger, a full-time consideration and, I have to say, rather fun, before heading back to our gaff where Jamie was waiting for us. By now the smallest of the kids was asleep but her brother had taken it on himself to be a dog, he was still in dog mode when we got on the bus which was hilarious as he didn’t give two tits for his/our fellow passengers -actually, he was still yelping when IC, Jamie and I got off the bus after saying a fond goodbye to our Northern pals.

We were a little late getting to the restaurant to the point that everyone was patiently waiting for us to arrived. The place was packed out with rowdy groups of shoddy families and downmarket teens all adding to the overtly ‘Mexican’ atmosphere. It transpired later that Patti had thought this Mexican eatery was the nice one we’d been recommended a few block away.

I can’t say the food was that good either, I had this chilli burger thing which tasted okay but was wetter than a fishes bum, but in spite of all this we all had a splendid evening and the bill wasn’t to awful to boot. We all took the bus back to Patti and Mary’s gaff and had a few more glasses with some weird chocolate before Jamie, IC, my bro and I went back to ours to see the evening off with nightcaps, until 3am, or something.

All IC and I wanted to do on Sunday was crash in front of the box with cups of tea, this was achieved after a massive fry up at the excellent cafe round the corner and seen our guests off. We watched the latest two episodes of The Killing, during which I had an obscene panic attack out of the blue, and then Human Planet the eyeball popping BBC 1 Show narrated by John Hurt.

At 5-ish Paul called and suggested we might want to meet him at the pub, we reluctantly agreed and took the freezing walk to a seldom used local that was half empty yet fully accommodating. I wasn’t pissed when I met Gerry later on that evening but due to lack of food and adequate sleep I wasn’t quite right, in fact I had a panic derived whitey at some point, which I’m glad to say passed. Nonetheless, we had a marvellous evening chatting about this and that before time called us back to our respective dwellings heralding the cessation of the weekend.

I’ll recall the Uncle Monty tale later this week, in the meantime, eat this.