polly ticks

Just given some poor accountant a bollocking. This plumbing business, it’s still going on, I received a ‘final demand’ for payment despite having paid the amount in full last week. Turns out the Easter holidays had prevented the fucking plumbing lot from informing their creditors. Either way someone had a bad start to the day, and subsequently I’m feeling much better.

I cycled in again today, in the space of a week the blossoms have gone to be replaced by lime green shoots and buds that will frame my journey for the next month until the entire length of the tow path is one emerald green tunnel.

As mentioned, last night I had a few glasses of vino, not enough to cause a hangover but enough to highlight one essential difference between drinking the night before cycling and abstaining. Sweat, loads today, not a drip yesterday. And really that’s it.

In the past I’ve cycled with my brains boiling out of my eyes from a hangover, it makes little or no difference to ones performance, save the one time I vomited under the little railway bridge by the river but that was because I’d not cycled for ages and managed to stay up until the small hours with a friend…

Last night was great, double whammy of Grand Designs and in the midst of this flurry of comfort blanket telly I made a fish pie that was so good I went hard, downstairs. Then I got all serious and watched the news and a very peculiar Newsnight featuring ‘being green’ and subsequent global warming effects. It was only later following the news headlines that I realised something, probably the bleedin’ obvious but I’ll give it a shot.

The US military has accused, guess who, Iran for arming insurgence in Iraq. In fact Bush said 90% of all terrorist weapons are from Iran. If this were really the case surely it would be best to keep this information confidential because now the Iranians will respond to the US pressure and the crisis will continue to spiral towards the inevitable invasion of Iran, which is precisely what the US want.

It seems to me there is no intention on the part of the US to resolve this crisis but every intention to provoke a conflict. The hilarious irony is that the fucking US and the UK tooled the Iranians up in the first place (and Iraq in the 80’s) so they know exactly how many weapons they’ve got currently being used against their own military personnel. In short it’s the political news that’s not broadcast that’s relevant though portions of this can be gleaned by comment and analysis from (largely) the BBC.

Right, the article I wrote in Watch with Mothers about Tourette’s has flared up again like an STD; in addition my Saxon article is up too so wallow away.

Link to the right of the page folks. Over there —–>

RIP Kurt Vonnegut 1922 – 2007


Leave a comment